08 February 2023,   07:32
Delegation of the Foreign Relations Committee continues its official visit to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

The Delegation of the Foreign Relations Committee serves the official visit to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

The Chair of the Committee and the Head of the Delegation, Nikoloz Samkharadze and the Delegation members participated in the joint sitting of the Foreign Relations and the Defense Committees of the Parliament of Luxembourg, dedicated to the Georgia issue. Samkharadze introduced the foreign policy priorities of Georgia, overviewed the challenges in the wider Black Sea region, the impact of the Russian aggression in Ukraine on the security architecture of Europe and the grave situation on the occupied territories of Georgia.

The parties discussed the capacity to further enhance the Georgia-Luxembourg bilateral relations, including at the Parliamentary level and agreed on the intensification of cooperation based on a high potential to develop the bilateral links.

Samkharadze provided detailed information on the fulfillment of the EU recommendations by the Georgian Parliament, which was highly estimated. The Luxembourgian MPs reaffirmed the intact and unwavering support of their country to the territorial integrity and the EU and NATO aspiration of Georgia.

“At the joint sitting, we held an interesting discussion on Georgia. It is the second time in the last two weeks that the Parliaments of the EU member states hold a Committee hearing about Georgia, which indeed underlines the fact of the increased interest of the EU in Georgia. The Luxembourgian MPs gave a positive assessment to the efforts of the Georgian Parliament in the fulfillment of the EU recommendations and the recent reforms and progress in the country. I believe, our visit will positively trigger their decision to support the granting the EU candidate status to Georgia”, - said Nikoloz Samkharadze.

The Georgian Delegation is composed of the First Deputy Chair of the Foreign Relations Committee, Giorgi Khelashvili and the Committee members Irakli Kadagishvili and Ramaz Nikolaishvili.