26 September 2021,   16:13
Giorgi Kalandarishvili elected as the CEC Chairman for 6 months

The Parliament of Georgia has elected the Chairman of the Central Election Commission and 2 professional members.

The legislature approved Giorgi Kalandarishvili as the Chairman of the CEC with 83 votes against 3 and the candidacies of Gia Tsatsashvili (81 supporters) and Maia Zaridze (81 supporters) as members of the CEC.

Majority of opposition lawmakers did not attend the session.

Voting this time took place by a majority of the full membership, which meant that candidates needed at least 76 votes to be elected to vacant positions at the CEC.